top of page

THIRD BASE (THE BOYS OF SUMMER #1) - REVIEW


REVIEW

Title: Third Base

Series: The Boys of Summer, #1

Author: Heidi McLaughlin

Release Date: June 7, 2016

Publisher: Forever

EVERY GAME HAS RULES. HE'S ABOUT TO BREAK THEM . . .

Since becoming a major league baseball player, I've learned a few hard lessons. Like never give out your home address on social media (sorry, Mom). Never shoot your mouth off without thinking . . . and never, ever let your personal life interfere with your game. But then I saw her - sitting alone behind the enemy dugout, watching me - and I just had to meet this girl. Now I know that Daisy Robinson has her secrets, but there's something about her that drives me crazy. Maybe it's her innocence, her absolutely amazing knowledge of baseball, or just the fact that she is so unbelievably beautiful. I have to take it slow. Prove to her that the rumors about me are just that - rumors. Daisy might be my ultimate lifetime win. . . if I don't get hit by the curveball that's coming my way.

PURCHASE LINKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Heidi McLaughlin is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author. Originally from the Pacific Northwest, she now lives in picturesque Vermont with her husband and two daughters. Also renting space in their home is an over-hyper beagle/Jack Russell, Buttercup, and a Highland West/mini schnauzer, Jill.

When she isn't writing stories, you'll find her sitting court-side during either daughter's basketball games.

AUTHOR LINKS

Author Website: http://bit.ly/1O7Avt1

I'm a sucker for a man in uniform - a baseball uniform to be more specific - so when I picked up my first Heidi McLaughlin Boys of Summer book, I jumped right in.

Ethan Davenport has a little crush and it just happens to be a fan he can't keep his eyes off of, eyeing her at every home game from his perch at third base. But when he finally gets the nerve to talk to her, he realizes that there's something about Daisy Robinson he just can't get enough of.

I really enjoyed this story. Ethan is a genuinely good guy, learning what it means to be a professional athlete, which isn't as simple as it may sound. He knows his personal life shouldn't interfere with his professional one, but it's usually easier said than done. Daisy is new and exciting to him, but she's also holding something back that keeps him intrigued with her.

The feelings are all new to him, and it's fun to watch his journey through the book. Does he make some mistakes along the way? Absolutely. So does Daisy. To me, that makes the characters seem more real. No one is without flaws.

Definitely a good start to this series, and I can't wait to dive into the next one.

Featured Review
Click on the author's name to find all posts related to their work!
bottom of page